International Society for Theoretical Chemical Physics

ISTCP Board- and Business Meeting, at the Clarion Edge, July 15, 2019 at 12.45-14.00

Present:

Ad van der Avoird², Rod Bartlett¹, Erkki Brändas², Ria Broer³ (through §3), David Clary², Hazel Cox^{2,3}, Daniel Crawford², Peter Gill², Leticia González^{2,3} (through §3), Trygve Helgaker², Kersti Hermansson², Mark Hoffman², Samantha Jenkins⁴, Bogumil Jeziorski², Murat Kılıç⁴, Ingvar Lindgren¹, Wenjian Liu^{2,3}, Sourav Pal³ (through §3), Hiromi Nakai², Cleanthes Nicolaides², Martin Quack², Kresimir Rupnik³ (through § 3), Kenneth Ruud³, Lyudmila Slipchenko² (from §4), Harris Silverstone², Peter Surjan², Alia Tadjer²

Agenda:

- 1. Welcome
- 2. General information and reports
- 3. Revision of ISTCP Bylaws

Board Meeting adjourned until 18.00, July 16, 2019.

- 4. Proceedings
- 5. Election of President, Vice Presidents, Board members and National Representatives
- 6. The next venue, ISTCP XI in 2022.
- 7. Thanks to the organizers for the success of ISTCP IX
- 8. Other questions
- 9. Closing.
- 1. The president opened the meeting and greeted everybody cordially welcome to the tenth Business Meeting of the International Society for Theoretical Chemical Physics.
- **2.** The agenda was presented and approved. Further information on future meetings, the Honorary Board, The Board of Directors and National Representatives is found on the ISTCP X web page. All decisions at the meeting will be subject to the final ratification of the full Board of Directors.

ISTCP Founder, Janos Ladik, and Prof. Robert Parr, both members of the Honorary Board of Directors, Profs. Carmela Valdemoro, Gerardo Delgado Barrio, and Lubomir Skala, members of the Board of Directors, have passed away. Their services to the Society have been invaluable and will be truly remembered. We convey our condolences to their families. The Congress has dedicated two special sessions at ISTCP X in order to celebrate the memory and the significant work of Prof. Janos Ladik.

A number of board members have not responded to our emails and not participated in the last two Congresses or more. The president will contact them to find out whether they are still interested to remain and contribute to ISTCP before the new bylaws become effective.

3. Proposals to revise the bylaws were discussed at length. Several modifications were suggested and a number of significant adjustments and amendments were accepted. In particular Article 3 confirms the present increase from two Vice Presidents to four. General considerations of geographic and gender diversity in general elections were explicitly set down. Article 4 admits free membership to the Society including new responsibilities for National Representatives. Article 5 affects the obligations of the members of the Board of Directors and the quorum rules. Article 8 explicates the necessity of ratifying all decisions taken at the Business Meeting by the full Board of Directors. Article 9 specifies the rules for the organization of ISTCP Congresses. It is expected that the Chair and the Co-chair (the president) are responsible for the publication of the proceedings, rule 4.

The Business Meeting was adjourned after point 3 on the agenda and resumed the next day.

- **4.** It was decided to publish the proceedings of ISTCP X in the Advances in Quantum Chemistry, issued by Academic Press.
- **5.** The president and the four vice presidents were re-elected for the next three years. Prof. Leticia Gonzalez has succeeded Prof. Gerardo Delgado Barrio since his passing, see point 2.

It was decided to elect Prof. Sir David Clary and to actualize a previous promotion of Prof. Péter Pulay to the Honorary Board of Directors. Additional suggestions from the members included nominating Profs. Jiri Cizek, Joseph Paldus, Raphael D. Levine, Enrico Clementi, Sigrid D. Peyerimhoff and Brian T. Sutcliffe to the Honorary Board. The president will extend proper invitations.

The president was also delegated to contact Profs. Michael V. Basilevski, Miguel Castro, Anne M. Chaka, Karol Jankowski, Roberto Moccia regarding their wishes to remain on the Board before the new bylaws become effective.

Proposals for new Members of Board of Directors were given: Profs. Kenneth Ruud and Wenjian Liu (at the Meeting), Jozef Noga (by email, replacing Miroslav Urban), Hazel Cox (by email, replacing Sir David Clary). The candidates are well known in the chemical physics community, their election will be subject to ratification by the full Board of Directors.

Prof. Miroslav Urban has expressed his wish to withdraw from all ISTCP activities, and he recommends Josef Noga as his replacement as National Representative for Slovakia. We thank him for his highly valuable contributions to the Society and wish him all the best for a successful retirement.

It was proposed that the nominations for Board of Directors and suggestions for National Representatives might be advanced to the president and the vice presidents during the mandate period. In particular it is recommended to recruit National Representatives in order to improve regional covering, all in all respecting Article 3 in the bylaws.

- **6.** The following venues in regard to hosting ISTCP XI were presented, discussed and seriously considered at the Board meeting: Wenjian Liu (Shandong, China), Ria Broer (Groningen, Netherlands). After some discussions and deliberations the Board decided to select ISTCP XI to be held at Qingdao Institute for Theoretical and Computational Science, Shandong University, Qingdao, China in mid-October 2022.
- 7. The president thanked all Session Chairs for their strong efforts, devotion and enthusiasm to create a truly attractive and inspiring atmosphere for the meeting. Everybody present were thanked for coming to Tromsø, contributing to the development of the field of Chemical Physics, and for supporting ISTCP objectives.

The business meeting conveyed its greatest thanks to the Chair and organiser Prof. Kenneth Ruud for preparing an outstanding program with great variation, attracting excellent chairs, keynote-, plenary and invited speakers and running a competitive, yet a smooth and gentle meeting of 543 registered participants, the largest ISTCP Congress so far. The president was assigned by the Board to convey special thanks to the Chair and the whole organization at the Banquet and at the conclusion of the Congress, which he accepted with pleasure.

Finally he expressed, on behalf of ISTCP, his sincerest gratitude for the most kind and generous invitation to come to Tromsø and enjoy the fantastic arctic surroundings and the cordial reception by its residents.

- **8.** No other questions were raised.
- **9.** The president closed the meeting and thanked all present members of ISTCP for their support, constructive discussions and suggestions.

Uppsala 2019-08-11 Erkki J. Brändas President ISTCP

Ratified by the full Board of Directors, August 27, 2019

¹ Member Honorary Board

² Member Board of Directors

³ National Representative

⁴ By special invitation to the Board Meeting